Setting Your Soul Free From Bitterness, and Unforgiveness

Standard

I recently saw a post from the comedienne, and actress Monique, as she talked about Oprah, Lee Daniels, and Tyler Perry. I could tell she had really been hurt, and the resentment from those situations, was still within her being. Though I use her situation, as an example, this post is really not about her. But about all of us. We can let bitterness, and resentment make us stoop to the level of those who supposedly hurt us, if we do not allow ourselves to release these emotions.

Bitterness, and resentment can harbor in your spirit,  and stir up to present itself, as high blood pressure, heart disease, headaches, anger, depression,  indigestion,gastric diseases, back pain, knee pain, and a host of other issues. How is this you may ask? It is because we allow these emotions to settle in our being. These emotions fester and create havoc in our mind, body and spirit. Mostly because we are stuck in the turmoil of a situations that has made us bitter, and resentful. When you are stuck immovable and laden with resentment and anger. These emotion’s settle in your joints making it difficult for you to move them freely.  I know it is very hard to forgive when you feel someone has wronged you, or caused something devastating in your life. You may want them to pay for what they have done to you.  However, let me encourage you to move on, to forgive, and release them to God, for you as well as them.

Easy for you to say,  maybe the reply of some to me. I would then have to respond and say it has taken half a lifetime for me to forgive someone I believed hurt me. But as I was festering in resentment, anger, bitterness, that person was living their life successfully. I was stuck, and my life was on hold, because I could think of nothing else but how to get back at him. For nearly 20 years, I nurtured that bitterness, and resentment, though cancer, heart disease and high blood pressure. All those emotions were trying to explode from within me.  They were seeping and causing turmoil in my body. Meanwhile the other person was going on with life, healthy, happy, and unaware. Who was really the one that was paying the price for this situation, I was. That is, until I woke up and realized that I had to forgive, and let go of all that resentment, because it was eating me alive.

I would say the same thing to Monique, who is talented, funny, and gifted.  Keep moving, keep serving the world with truth, laughter, hope, and do not let the resentment and bitterness clog your creativity. Keep on being your divine higher self, pack light, and release the heavy bags of bitterness, unforgiveness, and hurt. Do it for you, set your soul free!

Leave a Reply

