Exploring Your Aging Self

Standard

imageAging is a process we all have to go through,Whether we like it or not, aging is a process we all go through daily. One of the buzz words of today, and one that is seen on a lot of beauty products, is the phrase,”Antiaging”. Society wants to stop the aging process, or be totally against it. We want any signs of living life to be gone. We celebrate our youth and youthful living. However, part of living, and living well is aging. Everyone, will reach a point in life, when they recognize the signs of aging. Whether, it is the smile lines, or wrinkles, the few extra pounds that won’t go away, the signs of aging will appear. It may be some type of activity that you use to enjoy with grace and agility. However, now it is just a little more diffiucult to accomplish physically. It is all a part of aging.

I have begun to view aging differently, not as this difficult process that I have to go through. I am learning to celebrate aging. There is so much I have learned over the years. There are qualities that I have developed because of my age. Like the ability to really not care what others think of me, I am no longer a people pleaser. I celebrate my individuality, to go the path I think God is leading me, and to celebrate the path of others. I have learned to appreciate the beauty of grace. The grace of God because I am human and I do not always do everything perfectly. I live a perfectly, imperfect life, and I am happy to do so. I know I have made mistakes, and I have learned from them. The mistakes I have made in life allows me to have grace towards myself and others when mistakes are made. Aging has provided me with the ability to appreciate the moment, the sights, smells, and activity of each moment I live. Finally, I am beginning to appreciate the physical beauty of my aging. I appreciate the lines on my face, they are the product of a life well live. I appreciate this body that I am in, it moves and takes me wherever I try to go. It may move a little slower but it moves. I appreciate the wisdom, that I have acquired over the years. The ability to see people for who they are, and the ability to believe them when they tell me who they are. The ability to know bullhockey when I hear, and to call it as it is.

Their is this sixth sense that comes with living on the planet for 50+ years. A freedom in knowing I can try those things I never had the time to do. I still can be sexy, sassy, and classy. My age is a number that will not define me, but will proclaim that I have lived and lived well.

Leave a comment