Finding Peace

Standard

There is a scripture in the bible, where Jesus is quoted as saying, “My peace will I give to you”. Can you imagine the peace of Jesus. He came to earth knowing his fate, and purpose and yet experienced peace in his life. Jesus, like all of us experienced, turmoil, doubt, rejection, and all the human emotions and conditions we are all subject to. Yet he knew he had a plan and a purpose, and he had peace with his purpose in life. Jesus, is the example for us, we are capable of finding peace no matter, what life tries to throw at us. I find peace in stillness. Practicing, quietness and stillness each morning sets the tone for my day. It is an important foundation of my spiritual practice.

Sometimes, as we go about our day to day lives, with jobs, family obligations, meetings, and the day to day hustle, we can get so overwhelmed. We go from this thing to the other, constantly moving, trying to get things done. However, starting your day even if only for a few minutes, in quiet and stillness encourages you to release the mental clutter. When you can release the mental clutter, you find peace and clarity.

Begin, by finding a quiet place, settle there. Somewhere you will not be interrupted. In the early morning hours before the rest of my family is awake is my time. Just sit quietly, with no tv, phones, or any other outside stimuli. The intent is just to sit quietly and enjoy the stillness, and the quiet time. I even sometimes imagine I am deleting mental debris and chatter from my brain. Then I just allow myself to be.

Breathing in and out slowly and deeply, I just allow myself to concentrate on breathing, and being still. Thoughts come, allow them and let them pass. In the quietness, I hear God, I receive the most profound messages and sometimes I hear nothing, just quiet. After my personal moments of silence, if someone or a situation comes to mind I pray for them, that they may find peace. I ask God to speak to me often in my quiet time, and he does. I journal this experience, and I have found that God has lead me through some of my most trying times, during those quiet moments with him. Recently, I went to see the movie, “The War Room”. In the movie an elderly woman actually had a closet where she spent time quietly with herself and God, praying. Your “War Room” like mine, does not have to be a physical space, but a mental space where you connect with your spirit, and with God. This connection becomes the source of your peace, your grounding space. This becomes your breathing space, your space for restoration, and release.

Allow your quiet time to be the place you revive, and replenish for your day. Breathe-release-listen to the stillness- and just be. Know that this is a place that is within you, that you can obtain in an instance. Just knowing this brings peace, the more you practice having this space, the closer you are to peace within.

Leave a Reply

