Relgion vs Spirituality

Standard

It is such a popular term these days to say I am more Spiritual than Religious. Sometimes I chuckle at the cliches’ of today. One would first have determine what is religious and what is Spiritual. To be religious, means you participate in a more organized form of rites, tradition doctrine, and rituals.
Whereas, Spirituality is more about communing with the divine, this communion, can be experienced on a more personal level. Neither is right or wrong, but a preference of how you connect with God. Each has its benefits; with organized Religion the are benefits of being in a organized committee of believers, you can provide greater services to the world, foster growth among the group, instill order, that meets the need for many people. However, with Spirituality, you can seek your own path, commune with God on a more personal level, although, you also can meet with like minded people. I really believe it all comes down to a question of personal preference. It also comes down to how you define yourself and your relationship with your Creator.
Personally, I feel I am both, I enjoy some aspect of organized religion. Meeting together, with the defined purpose of worshiping God, is an awesome experience for me.The worship experience, with all that are called for that purpose is revelatory, in that atmosphere new dimensions of God can be revealed. Then, there are those moments, which are quite frequent when I need no other, I just want to meet with my Heavenly Father alone and bask in his presence. Acknowledge the fact that I need Him, rely on Him, and totally trust him. These are the times when I do not need organized rules and dogma to be with my Abba. I need quiet and focus, in order to hear his voice. As I think of it, what I desire most is not religion or even spirituality; but a relationship with My God. Both religion and Spirituality have their place, but Relationship fits me just fine.
The decline in church membership, has caused many to study this religious vs spiritual phenomena. Studies show that 1 in 5 Americans (Empty Pews:Everyone Is Misreading the Numbers of Religious Unaffiliated) identify themselves as Spiritual but not religious. I believe many of those have just become disenchanted with organized religion, and on a quest to find their own path. I too have felt this way even now I find more solace in my personal time with God. Still, there is a place in me that longs to fellowship with other believers. Religion can be spiritual, that is my premise, we don’t have to define our experience but live it daily. Think about it, and once again my answer is, it is not about being defined but having a relationship with God. So what is my religious affiliation, “I have a relationship with My God”.

20140201-135628.jpg

Leave a Reply

